How to evaluate your own level of English
Home » Uncategorized  »  How to evaluate your own level of English
How to evaluate your own level of English

It's about how to evaluate your own level of English, and what it means when someone says "I'm A2, I'm B1, I've got B2, C1 level of English".

So many people use these terms without understanding what they mean, so let's fix that and what you can do to get to the next level. So we need to talk about the CEFR, the Common European Framework of Reference.

It's divided into six levels, A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2

This measures your ability in a language.
Now, the A levels are considered beginner levels.
The B levels are the intermediate levels.
And the C levels are the advanced levels.

The majority of english learners are working towards the B1 and B2 levels.

The C1 and C2 levels, that's less about language skills and more about academic ability.

English levels explained

Let's start with the A1.

If you are listening to me now and understanding what people say, you are probably higher than an A1. With an A1 level, you can use basic expressions.
You can introduce yourself, you can ask some questions. You can interact with people if they speak slowly to you, if they are prepared to modify their language to make sure you understand them, because they know you're a beginner.

The A2 level is described as elementary

Lots of students get stuck at A2, and find it hard to move on to B1. With A2, you can understand frequently used expressions about common topics in everyday life.
Hobbies, work, your local area. You can also talk about yourself but in fairly simple terms. Now let's talk about the interesting part, the B levels.

As was said, the majority of students ho learns Englis are working towards their B1 and their B2.
Sometimes there's a sense of pride. People don't want to say they're working towards a B1 because they think they should be further ahead than that.

But if you don't know the basics, you're going to struggle with the more advanced grammar and vocabulary.

With B1, you are a true intermediate

You can deal with most travel situations. You can understand points related to hobbies, work, school, your local area, and daily life. You can write about your personal interests. You can describe experiences, ambitions, opinions, and dreams.

It's the equivalent of a Cambridge PET or P-E-T exam. That's the B1 exam in Cambridge. It's the IELTS level four to five.

A B1 level of English is a really good level of English.

Now moving on to the B2

This is considered upper intermediate. And don't be fooled. To get a B2 in English is an incredible achievement. You can understand ideas in more technical texts. You can communicate fairly easily with native speakers without too much effort, and without too much strain. People can understand you without too much effort or strain. You can respond to questions and conversations without having to stop and consider too much. It just comes naturally and spontaneously.

This is the equivalent of a Cambridge First or FCE Certificate. It's an IELTS level five to six.

Now let's move on to the advanced levels, C1 and C2

This is IELTS level seven or the Cambridge CAE, Advanced exam. With this level, you can read long texts, and long articles. You can understand conversations about complex subjects. You don't really have to think about vocabulary or grammar too much. You have a good enough ability to write academic texts. And that is why so many companies and universities want this C1 level.

If you're learning English for pleasure, it might not necessarily be the best goal for you.

Finally, we have C2

This is an exam that many native speakers wouldn't be able to pass. It is a near native level. Not many people do C2 exams. It is really, really advanced. It's an IELTS level eight to nine. It's called the Proficiency exam in Cambridge. You can communicate totally fluently. You can use nuance. You make hardly any mistakes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *